Selective hearing

20200519_100514

The kids finally convinced me to get the kiddie pool out. And the conversation went like this;

Me: “Don’t get the pool out yet. Find a level spot where it can sit then come and get me so I can check it out. I want to lay a tarp down first and then we can fill it.”
What they heard: “Find a level spot, lay down a tarp, and fill the pool.”

Selective hearing at its best! 🤣

And once again, I’m reminded how often I do this to God. He accurately calls me out on my transgressions and directs me in the way to go, and I skip over the parts I don’t want to hear like how I need to change an attitude, action, or a set of thoughts and jump into the blessings of His promises and a set of instructions that most interests me. Oh, Lord how I need every part of your Word, even the parts that hurt my feelings or tell me to wait!

*But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, open to reason, full of mercy and good fruits, impartial and sincere. And a harvest of righteousness is sown in peace by those who make peace. James 3: 17-18

Leave a comment